Blogger Jeff = new Blogger

Programming and stuff in Western PA

Moving from iPhoto to Picasa

I moved my 5 gigabytes worth of digital photos from my Mac to my PC tonight. This is usually a pretty easy thing to do, as you just copy your “Originals” folder in the iPhoto directory to it’s new destination. I didn’t care about copying the photo albums from iPhoto, but the problem I ran into was getting to the keywords my wife and I added for every stinking photo. iPhoto uses it’s own proprietary method for storing keywords, so I needed to export them somehow.

Thankfully I found the iphotokeywordutilities app that did the trick for me. It’s a little tricky to get going, as you have to :
1.download iphotokeywordutilities
2.Open iPhoto and select the photos whose keywords you want to export.
3. You then click on the applescript from the downloaded zip

What iphotokeywordutilities does is take the iPhoto keyword and embed it right into the image’s IPTC keyword attribute.

July 26, 2008 - Posted by | iPhoto, Technology

2 Comments »

  1. Hi.
    My computer crashed and every thing was lost. Could it be that my pictures are stil alive in Picasa ?Thank yopu very much
    TED

    Comment by Ted Kyriazis | October 17, 2008 | Reply

  2. If you uploaded them to Google, then yes. Also, before you throw your computer away, ask your local computer fix-it shop to take a look. They may be able to save your data. Also, in the future, you should back up your photos offline (I burn mine to a dvd every so often).

    Comment by rudesyle | October 17, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

