Blogger Jeff = new Blogger

Programming and stuff in Western PA

Keyboard and mouse synchronization with Synergy

I installed and started using a cool app today called Synergy . This app allows me to share my mouse and keyboard across 2 or more computers. In my case, it’s my Macbook and my Dell desktop. You download and install the app on both machines. After some minor editing with some config files, you’re then able to use the same mouse and keyboard for both computers. Synergy does this by having you define where the computers sit in relation to each other. In my case, my Dell monitor sits above my Macbook, so when I scroll the mouse off of the Macbook’s screen up top, it then appears on the Dell monitor. At this point, everything I input is seen on the Dell.

I also downloaded SynergyKM which supplies a GUI for the OS X side of things.

Pretty cool !

Tags:

January 22, 2007 - Posted by | Technology

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

