Blogger Jeff = new Blogger

Programming and stuff in Western PA

Store all you usernames and passwords with Keepass

I belong to around two billion web sites.  I think I have 5 Hotmail accounts, 2 Yahoo, and a ton of others.  I’ve always depended on Firefox in the past to remember these for me, but some times, that doesn’t work out too well.

Anyhow, I needed a secure way to store all of this information, which led me to a great free, open source application called Keepass. You can download Keepass for Windows, Mac, or Linux.   Keepass will even generate a strong password for you, and let you know if the one you entered can be guessed easily or not.

Tags: ,

January 30, 2007 - Posted by | Technology

3 Comments »

  1. Question on KeePass . . . I’ve been using it for about a year in the portable (USB) veersion and it’s great.
    I’ve been thinking about moving from Windows to Linux and have done some surfing to see if KeePass works under Linux.
    It appears it doesn
    But I haven’t found if it is possible to have a portable version with one database that can operate under both Linux and Windows.
    For example, my laptop will be under Linux. I take my KeePass with me on a USB drive and plug it into a Internet Cafe computer running Windows.
    Such a thing possible? What hoops do I jump through?
    Thanks.

    Comment by Bob H | February 22, 2008 | Reply

  2. Bob,

    I thought Keepass used a proprietary db format, meaning, it should be good to go regardless of what OS you’re using. I could be very wrong though. If I am wrong, you can export the db as a text file, and then reimport it to the second db.

    Comment by rudesyle | February 22, 2008 | Reply

  3. Thanks rudesyle.
    That makes sence.
    So I can have one database on the USB drive and two portable apps for KeePass, one for Windows and one for Linux. Take my passwords with me and plug into either a Windows machine or a Linux machine. Sounds slick!

    Comment by Bob H | February 22, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

