Blogger Jeff = new Blogger

Programming and stuff in Western PA

Safe web browsing for kids with Firefox and Foxfilter

When my daughters surf the internet, it’s usually via my Macbook and Safari. I make them use Safari because you can set it up to require every domain to be approved before they can access it.

I had to send my Macbook away to Apple care a few days ago, and my girls used my Dell to access the internet. Of course this concerned me, because I had no way to filter the websites they were visiting. I then found FoxFilter which is a Firefox add on that allows you to approve web sites in a variety of ways. I have it set to it’s “Whitelist” setting, which is nothing more than a text area box where you enter the permitted domains.

PLEASE NOTE : I just tried to install FilterFox on my Macbook and found out it is not available for Mac OS!

Tags: , ,

February 11, 2008 - Posted by | Firefox, Technology

4 Comments »

  1. Protecting children online it might be quite difficult. I’m glad you find a solution. I use for this problem a parental software because it’s easier for me. As i’m not an advanced computer user, this was the best option. http://www.applicationblocker.com

    Comment by Anelly | April 6, 2009 | Reply

  2. You can, its a firefox add on. you just need firefox.

    Comment by bob | October 28, 2009 | Reply

  3. […] pc tools internet security 2008 […]

    Pingback by Bricklab » Blog Archive » IEBlog : Add-on Guidelines in action – AVG Security Toolbar | December 6, 2009 | Reply

  4. Visit TUKI (The Ultimate Kids’ Internet), an environment for kids that builds character, teaches kids about money and finance, health and nutrition, success principles, internet safety and is fun and safe.

    Comment by whiteshark0121 | February 10, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

